top of page

teasing galaxies


an open secret,

it might sound like an oxymoron, but let me explain.

my secret has been made known to the heavenly bodies above.

it was my fault.

it just slipped from my mouth late one night at the beach

and before i could prevent them from knowing,

i saw my secret twisting towards the the stars.

then, the galaxies crumpled from their stations and leaned towards the the stars to hear my secret.

i cringed. the comets winked at each other.

the planets heard it and giggled, flashing their unearthly smiles at me.

i emerge from the waters, a shadowy, intrepid form, and whisper to the stars to keep my secret safe.

the nod and twinkle in response.

but, occasionally i see them take out my secret and twirl it around, all the while i stand staring as sea foam hits my bare feet.

an open secret.

sage

bottom of page